Pakistan announces 16-member Test squad series


The Pakistan team have finalized on their permutations and combinations as they finally named their 16-member squad for the series opener against England in Manchester, starting August 5.

According to a tweet from the PCB, the squad will comprise:

Azhar Ali (c), Babar Azam (vc), Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Imam, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan and Yasir Shah.

The head coach said, “The top order’s performance was crucial to winning the match,” adding that if a team scores over 300 runs on the board in the first innings, then it had 70% chances of winning the match.

He pointed out that the series against England was an opportunity for young bowlers to exhibit their skills. “Pakistani bowlers lacked experience when compared to their counterparts,” he highlighted.